Mysore News and Trade
News, Information and Trade Services from Mysore
Contact us | About us | Feedback
Candidates in Fray in Mysore for Lok Sabha & Assembly

Five candidates for the lone Lok Sabha seat and 89 candidates for the 11 Assembly seats are contesting the elections in Mysore district. Mr. Srikanta Datta Narasimharaja Wodeyar, the sitting Congress MP and scion of Mysore royal family, is making bid to retain his seat against his BJP rival, Mr. C.H.Vijaya Shankar, who lost in the previous Lok Sabha elections. Mr. A.Ramadas and Mr. H.S.Shankaralinge Gowda, both of BJP and Mr. Tanvir Sait, son of former Congress Minister Azeez Sait, are also making their bid to retain their Assembly seats.

While Mr. Ramadas has to battle out against former Congress Minister, Mr. S. Ramesh, Mr. Shankaralinge Gowda is facing stiff competition from hotelier-film producer, Mr. Sandesh Nagaraj, Chairman of the Mysore Urban Development Authority. Mr. Maruthi Rao Powar, who was formerly with the BJP and changed party a few years ago is back in contest on Janata Dal (S) ticket in Chamundeswari constituency. Mr. Tanvir Sait has to face Mr. Powar, besides his own brother, Mr. Tariq Sait, who is contesting as a Janata Party candidate. The BJP has left this seat to the Janata Dal (United) with which it has poll understanding in the State. The Janatal Dal (U) has fielded a corporator, Mr. Anwarji.

There are eight candidates in Krishnaraja Constituency, of whom one Independent has announced his retirement from contest, seven in Chamaraja and 10 in Narasimharaja constituency.

The candidates in the field in Mysore City polls are:

Mysore Lok Sabha Constituency: Mr. Srikanta Datta Narasimharaja Wodeyar (Congress), Mr.C.H.Vijaya Shankar (BJP), Mr. A.S.Guruswamy (Janata Dal – Secular), Mr. Khaleemulla (Kannada Nadu) and Mr. Srinath (Vatal Party).

Krishnaraja Assembly Constituency: Mr. A.Ramadas (BJP), Mr. S.Ramesh (Congress), Mr. M.K. Somasekhar (Janata Dal–S), Ramadas (Bahujan Samaj Party), Mr. N. Janardhan (Kannada Nadu), Mr. H.S.Srinivas, Mr. M.V. Rajashekar and Mr. N.S.Ravindra (Independents). The last candidate has announced his retirement.

Chamaraja Assembly Constutency: Mr. H.S.Shankaralinge Gowda (BJP), Mr. Sandesh Nagaraj (Congress), Mr. Uma Shankar (Janata Dal – S), Mr. Nataraj (Kannada Nadu), Mr. Jayaprakash (Janata Party), Mr. M.Sashidhar (SUCI), and Mr. Suresh (Ind).

Narasimharaja Assembly Constituency: Mr. Tanvir Sait (Congress), Mr. E.Maruthi Rao Powar (Janata Dal –S), Mr. M. Anwar (Janata Dal –U), Mr. R.N. Mahesh (BSP), Mr. A.R.Krishna Murthy (Kannada Nadu), Mr. Tariq Sait (Janata Party), Mr. J.N.Rajesh (Shiv Sena), Mr. H.R.Vishakante Gowda, Mr. S.Shanthappa, and Ms. Pushpa (Inds).

In the Mysore Taluk (Chamundeswari Constituency), which includes some parts of Mysore city, nine candidates are contesting. Former Deputy Chief Minister in late Mr. J.H.Patel’s government and State Janata Dal President, Mr. Siddaramaiah is bidding to regain his seat, he lost in the previous Assembly elections to Mr. A.S.Guruswamy of Congress. Mr.Guruswamy is now contesting to the Lok Sabha on the Janata Dal (S) ticket, having failed to get ticket from the Congress. Mr. Siddaramaiah is locked in battle against former police officer of the State, Mr. L.Revanna Siddiah.

Chamundeswari Assembly Constituency: Mr. Siddaramaiah (Janata Dal –S), Mr. L.Revanna Siddiah (Congress), Mr. M. Appanna (BJP), Mr. Devaraj (Janata Party), Mr. B.Chandra (BSP), Mr. S.N.Krishna (Kannada Nadu), Mr. P.Karigowda, Mr. T.Dasappa, and Mr. Ayub Mohamad Khan (Inds).

Also Read: Top Stories | Mysore Briefs | Top Articles

© all rights reserved
Privacy Policy | Legal Disclaimer